Planning Commission

Planning Commission

Members of the Planning Commission are, from left, Wayne Wilson, Herb Thompson, Judy Emswiler, Rebecca Hoch (Chair), Ray Keller, Howard Carson, Leanne Sotak (alternate), David Barker (former member), Jim Masters and John E. Robinson III (Vice Chair). Jim Hrabik not pictured. 

About the Commission

The Planning Commission has the duty to make and adopt plans for the physical development of the City and within the City's extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction (ETJ). The Commission is a recommending body to the City Council. Subdivision regulations have been adopted to provide for harmonious development of the city and its environs, for the integration of new subdivision streets with other existing or planned streets, for adequate open spaces for traffic, recreation, light and air, and for the distribution of population and traffic in a manner which will tend to create conditions favorable to health, safety, convenience, or prosperity.

Zoning regulations have been adopted to serve the public health, safety, and general welfare of the city and its extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction (ETJ), to classify property in a manner that reflects its suitability for specific uses, to provide for sound, attractive development within the city and its extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction (ETJ), to encourage compatibility of adjacent land uses, to protect environmentally sensitive areas, and to further the objectives of the Comprehensive Development Plan for the City of Papillion.


  • 7 p.m.
  • City Hall
    122 E 3rd Street
    City Council Chamber
    Papillion, NE 68046
Meeting times for Special Meetings of the Planning Commission will be listed on the agenda for that meeting.

Meeting agendas can be accessed in the Agenda Center.

Meeting Schedule

2019 PDF
Meeting Date Submittal Date
January 30, 2019 December 17, 2018
February 27, 2019 January 14, 2019
March 27, 2019 February 11, 2019
April 24, 2019 March 11, 2019
May 29, 2019 April 15, 2019
June 26, 2019 May 13, 2019
July 31, 2019 June 17, 2019
August 28, 2019 July 15, 2019
September 25, 2019 August 12, 2019
October 30, 2019 September 16, 2019
November 20, 2019 October 7, 2019
December 18, 2019 November 4, 2019
A pre-application meeting with City Staff is required prior to submission of any application for a preliminary plat, change of zone, or special use permit.

* Items will be placed on the Planning Commission agenda only if all necessary revisions to the material have been completed and submitted by the revision deadline.


Member Appointed Expires
Rebecca Hoch, Chair January 2001 February 2021
John E. Robinson III, Vice Chair June 2016 June 2022
Howard Carson February 2009 February 2021
Jim Hrabick May 2019 July 2020
Raymond Keller, Jr. September 2009 September 2021
Jim Masters December 2010 February 2022
Judy Emswiler July 2002 September 2022
Herb Thompson October 2016 October 2019
Wayne Wilson July 2017 September 2022
Leanne Sotak, Alternate March 2015 June 2022